IND vs SL: Sri Lanka announced T20 squad for India tour, this player returns after 18 months

Sri Lanka has declared the squad for the three-match T20I series against India which is scheduled to start from January 5. The hosts have already declared their squad for the T20 series and now Sri Lankan Cricket (SLC) has announced a 16-man squad.

The selector has included veteran all-rounder Angelo Mathews, who will be making his return into the team after 18 months. He last played for Sri Lanka in T20Is against South Africa in Colombo in August 2018.

Matthews' presence will definitely strengthen Sri Lanka's line-up, but we should wait and see whether he will get the place in the playing XI.

Lasith Malinga will lead the team in T20Is:

Lasith Malinga has been announced as the captain of the team and the management as shown the confidence on him until the T20 World Cup in Australia this year.

There have been some changes in the team from last October. Nuwan Pradeep is still injured and was not available for selection, while, Shehan Jayasuriya has been dropped.

The all-rounder played brilliantly against Pakistan but did not do well in Australia, to ensure his place. The first match of the series will be held in Guwahati on 5 January and then the next two T20s will be played in Indore and Pune on 7 and 10 January respectively.

Sri Lanka's team for T20Is against India:

Lasith Malinga (C), Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwela, Kusal Mendis, Wanindu Hasranga, Sandanga, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana.

Post a comment